AI Online


The Audi R10 TDI becomes the first-ever diesel sportscar to win a motorsports race

The Audi R10 diesel sportscar, featuring the innovative Dow Automotive diesel particulate filtration system, won the 12 hours of Sebring endurance race Saturday, March 18 at Sebring International Raceway in Sebring, Fla. The Audi R10 TDI exceeded performance expectations and went on to become the first-ever diesel sportscar to win a motorsports race.

“We’re thrilled to join Audi Sport as a technical development partner, and delighted that together we’ve accomplished a first for diesel technology,” said George Hamilton, President of Dow Automotive. “This partnership demonstrates our commitment to providing innovative solutions to the automotive industry.”

With a time of 12:01:56.561, the diesel-powered Audi R10 TDI won Sebring, the first race of the 2006 American Le Mans Series, by a margin of four laps over the Lola B05 40/AER. Powered by a 650 hp V12 TDI engine, the R10 set a track record in the qualifying round with a lap of 1:45.828, shattering the previous mark by more than two seconds. The Audi R10 TDI replaces the R8, which won the Sebring race for the last six consecutive years.

“The win by the Audi R10 TDI is a breakthrough accomplishment in motorsports,” said Dr. Wolfgang Ulrich, Head of Audi Sport. “We’re very pleased that our new partner Dow Automotive, under a tight timeline, successfully delivered this important filtration technology. And now we look forward to the challenge of Le Mans.”

About 12 Hours of Sebring
Sebring is world famous for the annual 12 Hours of Sebring endurance race, part of the prestigious American Le Mans Series. On the third Saturday of March, the raceway hosts thousands of race fans from around the world to witness the historic 12-hour classic, which was first held in 1952. Located in central Florida, Sebring is the oldest permanent road racing track in North America.

Previous posts

Next posts

Wed. July 17th, 2024

Share this post