AI Online


BorgWarner Louis Schwitzer Award Goes to Delphi Accident Data Recorder

The 41st annual BorgWarner Louis Schwitzer Award has been awarded to the engineering team of Erskine Carter, Glen Gray, Andy Inman, Tim Kronenberg, and Bruce Natvig for superior advancements in racecar safety with the development of the Delphi Accident Data Recorder 3 (ADR 3).

Delphi Accident Data Recorders have been required safety devices on IndyCars since 1992. The third generation ADR3 offers significant improvements from the previous design, providing a 37% reduction in size and weight, double the sample speed and memory, and 31 additional external signal inputs.

Delphi continues to be an engineering innovator in data acquisition with the ultimate goal of making the sport of auto racing safer. Major racing organizations from Formula One and NASCAR have sought out Delphi’s expertise to improve safety within their series. Delphi has also assisted the US Air Force with recording ejection seat data to improve pilot safety. Delphi continually strives to improve accident data recording and peripheral components, such as the 2005 BorgWarner Louis Schwitzer award winner Earpiece Sensor System now mandatory in the IndyCar, Indy Pro, and ChampCar World Series.

The award, presented to engineers by engineers, honors early racing pioneer Louis Schwitzer, and acknowledges individuals with the courage and passion to explore and develop new concepts in racing technology. BorgWarner sponsors this prestigious $10,000 award, which is presented by the Indiana Section of SAE. SAE International also supports the Louis Schwitzer Award by providing a $1,000 scholarship to the engineering school of the winner’s choice, and doubles the amount if the winner was a past Formula SAE participant. The winner’s name will be added to a permanent trophy on display at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum.

Previous posts

Next posts

Fri. March 1st, 2024

Share this post